Boris Johnson wins no confidence vote

The prime minister has received a vote against his leadership.

211 MPs voted for him to remain in No 10 while 148 voted against him.

359 ballots were cast.

180 MPs of the 359 who currently hold the Conservative whip would have to vote against Johnson in order to trigger a leadership election that Johnson would not be allowed to enter, effectively ending Johnson’s premiership.


Popular Sheffield Cafe first to recognize Trade Union


BASC logo

BASC works with colleges across America

  • Ahead of tonight’s vote, range of likely Conservative MPs who will vote for the prime minister is between 125 and 145 MPs.

Earlier this evening policing minister Kit Malthouse said he thought the prime minster would “thumpingly” win the vast majority” of MPs’ support.

Under the 1922 committee’s current rules, a Johnson victory in tonight’s vote means he cannot face a vote of no confidence for another year.

The rules of the committee can be changed.

John Major won a vote against confidence in 1995, supported by 66% of his own MPs.

  • John Major resigned from his position as Conservative leader after the victory, but he won a leadership contest.

2018: Theresa May won the vote of no confidence with support from 63% of her own MPs.

May announced her intention to resign her post as PM in June 2019, as the threat of a new no confidence vote loomed over the months following her 2018 victory.

On 23 June, the Conservatives will face two byelections in Wakefield, Tiverton and Honiton.

These seats may not produce the desired results, which could lead to further complaints from Conservative MPs.

If Johnson loses a future no confidence vote a leadership contest would be triggered.

Johnson would be allowed in the post while a new leader was voted for by Conservative party members.

If he wanted to resign immediately, an interim PM, likely deputy PM Dominic Raab would be needed.

According to the latest Conservative Home poll, Ben Wallace, Defence Secretary, is currently the most liked minister among Tory grassroots. He is currently ranked at 80 percent favorability.

Foreign secretary Liz Truss is second at 67 pc, while Nadhim Zhawi is slightly behind at 65.

Penny Mourdant, Trade Minister, is also said to be in leadership manoeuvres. Tom Tugendhat (Foreign Affairs Select Committee Chair) and Jeremy Hunt (Foreign Health Secretary) are also believed to be in the same situation.

Many MPs have voiced concerns about rule breaking at Downing Street during lockdown restrictions, and criticised the PM.

Boris Johnson and Rishi Unak were both fined by the Metropolitan Police in April for violating Covid rules.

Johnson is still being investigated by the House of Commons privileges Committee over his comments regarding the Partygate affair.

Last month’s long-awaited publication of Sue Gray’s report into lockdown gatherings in Downing Street and Whitehall described events during which some staff got so drunk they vomited, wine was spilt on walls and aides brawled.