20 Republicans Who Voted Against Kevin McCarthy for House Speaker

The subsequent speaker of the Home continues to be undecided after three rounds of voting Tuesday produced no clear winner.

Home Republican Chief Kevin McCarthy did not safe nearly all of votes in any of the three rounds. The Californian acquired 203 votes in rounds one and two, and 202 within the third spherical, The Associated Press reported, making it the primary time since 1923 that selecting a Home speaker required a number of ballots.

A complete of 218 votes are required to win the speakership.

Home Democrats already had nominated Rep. Hakeem Jeffries of New York to be minority chief. Jeffries succeeds Home Speaker Nancy Pelosi of California in main Democrats as Republicans take a slim majority within the Home following the outcomes of the Nov. 8 midterm elections.

Jeffries, 52, acquired 212 votes for Home speaker—9 greater than McCarthy, 57—within the first spherical Tuesday, The Day by day Sign beforehand reported. The New York Democrat acquired the identical variety of votes on the second and third ballots, Fox News reported.

Jeffries was elected to Congress in 2012 and his experience includes membership on the Home Judiciary and Finances committees. That is the second try by McCarthy, first elected in 2006, to grow to be speaker. He served as Home majority chief below two Republican audio system, John Boehner and Paul Ryan.

Voting for speaker will resume at midday Wednesday, Olivia Beavers of Politico tweeted.

Listed here are the 20 Home Republicans who didn’t vote for McCarthy for speaker Tuesday.

  1. Andy Biggs of Arizona
  2. Dan Bishop of North Carolina
  3. Eli Crane of Arizona
  4. Paul Gosar of Arizona
  5. Matt Gaetz of Florida
  6. Byron Donalds of Florida
  7. Bob Good of Virginia
  8. Anna Paulina Luna of Florida
  9. Chip Roy of Texas
  10. Keith Self of Texas
  11. Andrew Clyde of Georgia
  12. Andy Harris of Maryland
  13. Josh Brecheen of Oklahoma
  14. Matt Rosendale of Montana
  15. Mary Miller of Illinois
  16. Lauren Boebert of Colorado
  17. Andy Ogles of Tennessee
  18. Michael Cloud of Texas
  19. Ralph Norman of South Carolina
  20. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania

Donalds voted for McCarthy within the first two rounds, however switched his vote within the third spherical to Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio, who others additionally supported regardless of Jordan’s nomination of McCarthy on the second poll.

Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., additionally attracted votes for the speakership.

“The truth is Rep. Kevin McCarthy doesn’t have the votes,” Donalds mentioned in a tweet. “I dedicated my help to him publicly and for 2 votes on the Home Flooring. 218 is the quantity, and at the moment, nobody is there.”

“When the mud settles, we may have a Republican Speaker [and] now’s the time for our convention to debate and are available to a consensus,” Donalds additionally wrote on Twitter.

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia weighed in on fellow Republicans who have been voting for Jordan for speaker.

“Jim Jordan does NOT wish to be Speaker and nominated Kevin McCarthy on the Home ground for Speaker and is voting for him each spherical,” Greene mentioned in a tweet.

Gaetz, Rosendale, Norman, Biggs, and Good beforehand had mentioned they might not help McCarthy’s speakership bid, The Washington Examiner reported. To succeed in 218 votes and grow to be speaker, the Californian can’t lose the votes of greater than 4 fellow Republicans.

Gaetz, who voted for Biggs within the first spherical however switched to Jordan for the second and third rounds, spoke to reporters simply earlier than the Home started voting.

“These of us who is not going to be voting for Kevin McCarthy at this time take no pleasure on this discomfort that this second has introduced. However if you wish to drain the swamp, you can’t put the largest alligator in command of the train,” Gaetz mentioned. “I’m a Florida man and I do know of what I converse.”

“We supplied Kevin McCarthy phrases final night that he rejected,” Gaetz mentioned. “We sought a vote within the first quarter of the 118th Congress on time period limits. He refused. We needed a price range from the Republican Research Committee that balances on the ground within the first quarter. He refused. We needed the border plan that the Texas delegation put collectively on the ground. He refused.” 

Along with the 5 Republican lawmakers who publicly opposed McCarthy’s speakership bid earlier than the voting started, 9 different Republicans—Perry, Gosar, Ogles, Luna, Crane, Roy, Bishop, Harris, and Clyde—expressed their concern concerning the California lawmaker in a New Yr’s Day letter.

McCarthy made some concessions in a letter to fellow Republican lawmakers Sunday, together with ending digital participation and proxy voting, Fox News reported

“Simply because the speaker is elected by the entire physique, we are going to restore the power for any 5 members of the bulk celebration to provoke a vote to take away the speaker in that case warranted,” McCarthy mentioned within the letter. 

“Congress was by no means supposed for Zoom, and now not will members be capable to cellphone it in whereas attending lavish worldwide weddings or crusing on their boat. We’ll meet, collect and debate in particular person—simply because the Founders envisioned,” the Republican chief added.

Mary Margaret Olohan contributed to this report.

Have an opinion about this text? To pontificate, please electronic mail letters@DailySignal.com and we’ll think about publishing your edited remarks in our common “We Hear You” characteristic. Bear in mind to incorporate the url or headline of the article plus your identify and city and/or state.