New Law Signed: This Southern State Will Inspire and Set the Trend for More States to Crack Down on All Sanctuary Cities

May 08, 2017May 08, 2017

A new Texas law was signed on Sunday cracking down on ‘sanctuary cities.’ This could definitely inspire and set the trend for other US states to do the same.

Republican Gov. Greg Abbott signed SB-4 into law Sunday evening, banning sanctuary city policies in Texas and giving law enforcement officers the right to ask the immigration status of anyone they stop. Under this law, officers who do not adhere, with federal immigration agents could face jail time and huge fines reaching $25,000 per day.

“I was proud last night to sign this law ... What it means is that no county, no city, no governmental body in the state of Texas can adopt any policy that provides sanctuary, and second, what it means, is that law enforcement officials, such as sheriffs, are going to be required to comply with ICE detainer requests,” Abbott said on "Fox & Friends" on Monday.

Texas is the first state to ban sanctuary cities under President Trump.

Colorado passed a law in 2006 outlawing sanctuary cities, but the measure was repealed in 2013. So far, only Texas, Mississippi, Georgia, and Tennessee have officially passed bills into law banning ‘sanctuary policies.’

This new Texas law is set to begin on Sept. 1, but people opposed to this have said that they will challenge it in court.

The laws are not identical: Arizona’s law requires police to determine the immigration status of people during routine stops, which the Texas bill does not require, but simply allows, police to ask whether a person is in the country legally, even if they are not under arrest.

Nevada is also considering a sanctuary city ‘ban.’ Republican Senate Minority Leader Michael Roberson said he would lead this effort by pursuing a 2018 ballot question that would stop Nevada from allowing sanctuary cities.

What do you think about Texas doing this? Let us know in the comments section on Facebook!