Speaker of the House Officially Elected as the 116th Congress Starts

January 03, 2019Jan 03, 2019

The 116th Congress is being seated on Thursday and Democrats have taken back the majority after having been out of power for 8 years. Part of taking back power is electing a new Speaker of the House.

Paul Ryan is out and Nancy Pelosi is in. Pelosi is the House speaker for the second time. While it seemed likely that Pelosi would be the speaker, there were some challengers.

There were fifteen Democrats who did not vote for Pelosi as the speaker. Twelve of them voted for other people while an additional three people voted "present" rather than casting a vote.

She the list of people who voted against Pelosi, according to CBS:

Jason Crow (Colorado)
Max Rose (New York)
Jared Golden (Maine)
Joe Cunningham (South Carolina)
Abigail Spanberger (Virginia)
Mikie Sherrill (New Jersey)
Anthony Brindisi (New York)
Ben McAdams (Utah)
Ron Kind (Wisconsin)
Conor Lamb (Pennsylvania)
Kathleen Rice (New York)
Kurt Schrader (Oregon)
Members who voted present:
Jim Cooper (Tennessee)
Elissa Slotkin (Michigan)
Jeff Van Drew, who changed his vote from "no" (New Jersey)

Pelosi was formally elected speaker of the House. She received 220 votes, which is four more than she needed.

Several newly elected Democrats made campaign promises not to vote for Pelosi as speaker. Those included New York Rep. Anthony Brindisi voted for former Vice President Joe Biden for speaker, and Colorado Rep. Jason Crow and New York Rep. Max Rose voted for Sen. Tammy Duckworth.

The House Minority leader is Kevin McCarthy. Most Republicans voted for him, but a few voted for Rep. Jim Jordan, a leader of the Freedom Caucus.

After she was elected, Pelosi announced plans to immediately pass a spending bill to end the government shutdown. She also said the bill will not include funding for a border wall, so President Trump has said that he will not sign it.


Next: Melania Responds with Fire After Michelle Obama Criticizes Her Not Taking Her HelpNov 13, 2018