And The Winner Of The Iowa GOP Caucus Is...

February 01, 2016Feb 01, 2016


With 99% of votes reported, the Associated Press has declared Ted Cruz the winner of the Iowa GOP Caucus with 27.7% of the vote. Donald Trump has garnered 24.3%, only slightly ahead of Marco Rubio at 23.1%. Ben Carson has 9.3 %, Rand Paul 4.5%, Jeb Bush 2.8%, Carly Fiorina 1.9%, John Kasich 1.9%, Mike Huckabee 1.8%, Chris Christie 1.8%, and Rick Santorum 1%.

According to USA Today, Cruz, whose winning strategy included visiting all of Iowa's 99 counties, said, ”People are frustrated with the career politicians in Washington who have left the American people behind."

Trump said he'd still win the Republican nomination, declaring, "On to New Hampshire."

Rubio assured his backers that his close third place put him in major competition for the nomination.