14 Republicans Suddenly Flip Their Speaker Votes to McCarthy in 12th Round of Voting

Republican chief Kevin McCarthy is inching nearer to the speaker of the Home place after 14 Republicans modified their votes in his favor on Friday.

They embrace:

  1. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania
  2. Ralph Norman of South Carolina
  3. Andrew Clyde of Georgia
  4. Dan Bishop of North Carolina
  5. Anna Paulina Luna of Florida
  6. Chip Roy of Texas
  7. Victoria Spartz of Indiana
  8. Byron Donalds of Florida
  9. Josh Brecheen of Oklahoma
  10. Keith Self of Texas
  11. Michael Cloud of Texas
  12. Mary Miller of Illinois
  13. Andy Ogles of Tennessee
  14. Paul Gosar of Arizona

A complete of 218 votes is required to win the speakership.

Rep. James Clyburn, R-S.C., nominated Rep. Hakeem Jeffries, D-N.Y., whereas Rep. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla., nominated Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio and Rep. Lauren Boebert, R-Colo., nominated Rep. Kevin Hern, R-Mo.

Remaining vote rely:

  • McCarthy – 213 votes
  • Jeffries – 211 votes
  • Hern – 3 votes
  • Jordan – 4 votes

It is a breaking information story and could also be up to date.

Have an opinion about this text? To hold forth, please e mail letters@DailySignal.com and we’ll contemplate publishing your edited remarks in our common “We Hear You” function. Bear in mind to incorporate the url or headline of the article plus your identify and city and/or state.